Byrne and D’Arcy share seats in Seanad

By Dan Walsh As the long-awaited new government gets down to the serious business of running the country the 60-member lower chamber, Seanad Éireann, will also be out of the starting blocks with large amounts of legislation to be considered and recommendations passed for Dáil Éireann to conduct its business. There has been considerable ‘noise’Continue reading “Byrne and D’Arcy share seats in Seanad”

Churches re-open under strict guidelines

By Dan Walsh Parish churches across the Diocese of Ferns opened their doors for Saturday and Sunday Mass for the first time in three months this evening, albeit, under strict public health guidelines regarding physical distancing and the maximum number of congregation for any liturgy is reduced in line with the size and capacity ofContinue reading “Churches re-open under strict guidelines”

Farewell to Wexford hurling legend Jack Harding

The Funeral Mass takes place today of John ‘Jack’Harding, Kilmacoe, Curracloe, who played a hero’s game at full forward on the Wexford team that beat Tipperary 2-15 to 0-11 in the 1960 All Ireland senior hurling final at Croke Park. He recently celebrated his 87th birthday and was a member of Shelmalier GAA Club. InContinue reading “Farewell to Wexford hurling legend Jack Harding”

Visit Wexford to rediscover the magic

By Dan Walsh Wexford’s champion of tourism promotion across County Wexford is VisitWexford who has launched a fresh campaign to encourage holidaymakers to make ‘the Sunny South East’ the ideal place to celebrate the Irish summer this year. The newly elected Chairman of Wexford County Council, Cllr Ger Carthy attended his first official engagement atContinue reading “Visit Wexford to rediscover the magic”

Restoration of speed limits on old N11

There is positive feedback from road users towards the re-introduction of the 100 km per hour speed limit along the old N11 which comes into effect in mid-July. The speed limit had been adjusted when the M11 opened last summer causing consternation to some road users. “The change to the Speed Limits is something thatContinue reading “Restoration of speed limits on old N11”

Save the Ballyhogue Famine Wall

By Dan Walsh President Donald Trump would be welcome in Ballyhogue where Wexford County Council has granted approval to commence a process to save a protected structure in the shape of a wall built as part of famine relief works in Ballyhogue. The Ballyhogue Famine Wall or Bellevue estate boundary wall, about one kilometre long,Continue reading “Save the Ballyhogue Famine Wall”

Cllr Leonard Kelly is Mayor of Wexford

In his first term of office following election on an Independent ticket in 2017, Cllr Leonard Kelly is honoured with the title Mayor of Wexford which was bestowed on him at the annual general meeting of Wexford Borough District Council. The Clonard-man had unsuccessfully contested the 2014 local election and the 2016 general election andContinue reading “Cllr Leonard Kelly is Mayor of Wexford”

Cllr Frank Staples takes over at Rosslare

Rosslare Municipal District Council has a new Cathaoirleach following the departure of Cllr Ger Carthy, who has become Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council at the annual general meeting held in ‘the Street’ at County Hall, Wexford. The honour falls to Cllr Frank Staples from Ballymore-Mayglass, a former Fine Gael Director of Elections at local, DáilContinue reading “Cllr Frank Staples takes over at Rosslare”

Cllr Michael Whelan is New Ross Chair

Ballycullane -based Cllr Michael Whelan was elected Cathaoirleach of New Ross Municipal District Council, a position he previously served in 2016-’17, at the annual general meeting held in ‘distancing’ at ‘the Street’, Carricklawn, Wexford. Cllr Whelan was first elected for Fianna Fáil in 2014 and has a background in the construction trade. He served onContinue reading “Cllr Michael Whelan is New Ross Chair”

Cllr Barbara-Anne is Enniscorthy choice

Bunclody-based Cllr Barbara-Anne Murphy is the new Cathaoirleach for the Enniscorthy District following her selection from the six-member group at the annual general meeting held in ‘the Street’ at Carricklawn, Wexford, in social distance settings. Outgoing Cathaoirleach Cllr Kathleen Codd-Nolan takes the Leas-Cathaoirleach position making it a good day for gender equality. Cllr Murphy isContinue reading “Cllr Barbara-Anne is Enniscorthy choice”