GAA Weekend Round-up; Wexford wins in hurling and football

WEXFORD 2-11(17) WICKLOW 0-14

Good day for Wexford football with a 2-11 to 0-14 victory over Wicklow at Aughrim today (Sunday) earning a rare opportunity to play against the record breakers six-in-a-row All-Ireland champions Dublin in the Leinster Senior Football Championship quarter-final in Chadwicks Wexford Park next Sunday. It is Wexford’s first Leinster Championship success since 2014.

WEXFORD: Darragh Brooks; Martin O’Connor (1-00), Gavin Sheehan, Liam O’Connor; Paraic Hughes (0-01), Brian Malone, Michael Furlong; Daithi Waters, Liam Coleman; Tom Byrne, Sean Nolan, Kevin O’Grady; John Turbitt (0-02), Eoghan Nolan, Mark Rossiter (1-06, 1f). Subs: Ben Brosnan for Nolan (7), Donal Shanley (0-02, 2f) for Brosnan (19), Niall Hughes for Nolan (47), Eoghan Porter for L O’Connor (57), Alan Tobin for O’Grady (58).

WICKLOW: Mark Jackson (0-02, 2f); Arran Murphy (0-03), Eoin Murtagh, Oisin Manning; Darragh Fitzgerald, Niall Donnelly, David Deveraux; Padraig O’Toole (0-01), John Paul Hurley; Andy Maher, Mark Kenny (0-01), Conor Byrne (0-01); Chris O’Brien (0-02, 2f), Seanie Furlong, Patrick O’Connor (0-04). Subs: Paul Cunningham for Fitzgerald (40), Daniel Keane for O’Brien (55), John Sheeran for Hurley (62), Fintan O’Shea for Cunningham (68), Saoirse Kearon for D Devereaux (69), Pat Burke for Maher (69).

Referee: Fergal Kelly (Longford).

Liam O’Connor, Anthony Masterson, Darragh Brooks, Paraic Hughes, Seán Nolan, Niall Hughes and Martin O’Connor celebrate Wexford’s football success over Wicklow. ©INPHO/Tommy Grealy.

WEXFORD 5-31 (46) LAOIS 1-23 (26)

Wexford got the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship off to a winning start with a 20-points victory over Laois at Nowlan Park, Kilkenny, on Saturday evening and will face Kilkenny in the next round next Saturday in a game that may be fixed for Croke Park!

WEXFORD: Mark Fanning (0-01 free); Simon Donohoe, Liam Ryan, Shane Reck; Gavin Bailey (0-01), Matthew O’Hanlon, Shaun Murphy (0-01); Diarmuid O’Keeffe (0-02), Liam Óg McGovern (0-02); Rory O’Connor (1-07), Mikie Dwyer (0-02), Kevin Foley (0-03); Paul Morris (0-05, 1 free), Lee Chin (1-02, 0-01 free), Conor McDonald (2-04). Subs: Jack O’Connor for O’Keeffe (50); Connal Flood for Donohoe (54); David Dunne (1-00) for Dwyer (54); Conor Firman for Bailey (61); Cathal Dunbar (0-01) for Chin (67).

LAOIS: Enda Rowland; Donnacha Hartnett, Seán Downey, Jack Kelly (0-01); Stephen Maher, Ciarán McEvoy, Ryan Mullaney; Fiachra C. Fennell, James Ryan; Charles Dwyer (0-04), Paddy Purcell (0-03), Ciarán Collier (0-02), PJ Scully (0-08, 5 frees, 1 ‘65), Willie Dunphy, Ross King (0-02).

Subs: Eanna Lyons for Ryan (HT); Lee Cleere (0-01) for Hartnett (47); Aaron Dunphy for W. Dunphy (53); Ciarán Comerford (1-01) for Purcell (53); Matthew Whelan (0-01) for Downey (54).

Referee: Thomas Walsh (Waterford).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: