Cllr Garry Laffan is new Mayor of Wexford

By Dan Walsh

The newly elected Mayor of Wexford is Cllr Garry Laffan (Fianna Fail) who was “honoured and privileged” to be elevated to the historic position at the annual general meeting of Wexford Borough and Municipal District Council held this morning.


From Glynn, Mayor Laffan is an All-Ireland hurling medal holder with the victorious 1996 Wexford team and a former member of the Defence Forces who was first elected to Wexford County Council in 2019.

He served as Leas-Cathaoirleach on the outgoing Wexford County Council team led by Cllr Ger Carthy (Independent)

Mayor Laffan replaces Cllr Leonard Kelly, (Independent) who proposed Cllr Laffan and speaking at his departure reflected on his term as Mayor of Wexford. “It has been an honour to lead this wonderful town and district during the strangest of strange twelve months, for all of us,” and he added; “While my time as Mayor is at an end, I have three more years as County Councillor. A time in which I intend to be as relentless as I have in the last 12 months in ensuring our community is a great place for all of us.”

Cllr John Hegarty (Fine Gael) is Deputy Mayor.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: