Enniscorthy achievers honoured last night

By Dan Walsh at Riverside Park, Enniscorthy

A number of clubs and individuals were honoured at a Civic Recognition Evening as guests of Cllr Cathal Byrne, Cathaoirleach, and members of Enniscorthy Municipal District Council, in the Riverside Park Hotel, Enniscorthy, last night.

Cllr Byrne said the aim of the occasion was “to honour people from the town and district who have done us proud” and he complimented and congratulated them as each one reached the podium to receive a framed certificate of recognition.

AND THE WINNERS ARE; Cllr Cathal Byrne presented to the Woodsmen Horsehoe Club (Brendan Earle, John Joe Byrne and Noel Redmond) on winning their 10th All-Ireland Horseshoe Championship; Bree ICA was represented by recently elected County President, Breda Cahill, on celebrating the guild’s 60th birthday; Johanna Wickham accepted the award for the Bree Macra Na Feirme FBD National Capers competition success in 2020; and Willie Wickham, Johanna Wickham and James Byrne represented Bree Macra Na Feirme branch on celebrating its 60th anniversary in 2020.

Cllr Aidan Browne presented awards to Aidan O’Brien, Chairman, Enniscorthy Pitch & Putt on behalf of Dylan Hudson, Ruairi Fortune, Murt O’Neill, Dean Grannell, Dale Donohoe and Glenn Fortune.

Cllr Barbara-Anne Murphy made a presentation to Enniscorthy Rugby Club and present were Niall Wall (President), Aidan O’Brien (coach) and Tomás Stamp (captain) and the occasion was their achievement in reaching the AIL League in 2020. Cllr Murphy also presented local media Frank Corcoran of Slaney News on celebrating ten years in business.

Kathleen Codd-Nolan nominated Jason Rackard, winner of the Mullingar Scratch Cup (Golf) in 2020; the County Wexford Pool team (Tyler O’Connor, Barry Sinnott, Alan Maher and Benjamin Doyle), winners of the under-25 All-Ireland Pool Championships in 2021.

Cllr John O’Rourke nominated Enniscorthy-born UK-based flat race jockey Pat Dobbs. He presented to Louise Dobbs, winner of the under-11 All-Ireland Irish Dancing championships in 2019, and also nominated Jake Cox, winner at the All-Ireland Youth Boxing Championships in 2018.

The under 25 All-Ireland Pool Champions 2021 – Tyler O’Connor, Barry Sinnott, Alan Maher and Benjamin Doyle – receive their award from Cllr Kathleen Codd-Nolan at the Civic Recognition Evening organised by Enniscorthy Municipal District Council and held in the Riverside Park Hotel last night.

Cllr Byrne complimented the staff of the Municipal Council who organised the event including Bernie Quigley (Acting District Manager), Carolyne Godkin (Director of Services), and Mary Clince (Staff Officer).

The pleasant occasion was somewhat low key due to Covid-19 guidelines which resulted in a reduced attendance and there was a backlog in the number to be honoured, however, the Council is planning to catch up in the New Year and more Civic Recognition honours are planned.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: