Cllr McDonald takes Rosslare chair

At the annual general meeting of Rosslare Municipal Council (left to right); Noreen Cummins (District Manager) Cllr Ger Carthy, Cllr Frank Staples (Leas-Cathaoirleach), Cllr Lisa McDonald (Cathaoirleach), Cllr Jim Moore, Cllr Jim Codd and Annette O’Neill (Director of Services).

By Dan Walsh

Cllr Lisa McDonald was elected the new Cathaoirleach of Rosslare Municipal District Council at the annual general meeting held today at County Hall, Wexford.

Cllr McDonald was proposed by Cllr Jim Codd and seconded by Cllr Ger Carthy and was elected unopposed. Outgoing Cathaoirleach Cllr Jim Moore congratulated Cllr McDonald and handed over the chains of office to the new incumbent.

Cllr McDonald told; “I am greatly honoured and privileged to have this morning been elected by my colleagues as Cathaoirleach of the Rosslare Municipal District. This is a proud day for myself, family, friends and supporters.

“I look forward to working alongside my colleagues and the Rosslare Municipal District staff in the year ahead to deliver for the people of the constituency,” she concluded.

Cllr Frank Staples is the new Leas-Cathaoirleach having been proposed by Cllr Jim Moore and seconded by Cllr Ger Carthy.

The meeting reviewed the past year and Cllr Jim Moore was congratulated on his leadership as Cathaoirleach and his work on behalf of the people of the district.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: