Cllr Sheehan is Chair at New Ross

By Dan Walsh

Long serving Fianna Fáil public representative Cllr Michael Sheehan was elected Cathaoirleach of New Ross Municipal District Council at yesterday’s annual general meeting. He succeeds Cllr Bridín Murphy (Fine Gael).

CLLR MICHAEL SHEEHAN (Cathaoirleach) and CLLR JOHN FLEMING (Leas-Cathaooirleach) congratulate each other at New Ross Municipal Council.

Cllr Sheehan said he was honoured to be elected and promised that he would work hard for the betterment of the town and district in the coming year. Cllr Sheehan was first elected to New Ross Town Council in June 1999 and Wexford County Council since 2014 and is a former Cathaoirleach.

The Leas-Cathaoirleach is Cllr John Fleming (Fianna Fáil), from Palace, Clonroche, who was first elected in 2014, served as Cathaoirleach of New Ross District in 2019, and specialises in rural affairs.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: