Crowds in Enniscorthy for St. Patrick’s Day

Lots of colour at today’s St. Patrick’s Day parade in Enniscorthy where every vantage point is filled to capacity.

By Dan Walsh at Enniscorthy

The streets of Enniscorthy were lined with families and enthusiastic crowds this afternoon for the annual St. Patrick Day’s Parade which was an outstanding success with colour, enthusiasm and a welcoming atmosphere in the shadow of Vinegar Hill.

Speaking to, Cllr Cathal Byrne, Leas-Cathaoirleach representing the Cathaoirleach, Cllr Aidan Browne, who is representing Wexford at St. Patrick’s Day celebrations in the United States, was positive about today’s event.

“There was a great turn out. Really enthusiastic crowds got to see a fantastic display of everything that’s so good about Enniscorthy,” said Cllr Byrne, who added; “It is really important that we celebrate our national day with pride and here in Enniscorthy we have done that.”

CLLR CATHAL BYRNE speaking to DAN WALSH at today’s St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Enniscorthy.

Cllr Byrne also attended the annual Bunclody event and the first ever St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Kiltealy and at both places the rain caused atrocious conditions.

On the Review Stand at Abbey Square were Cllr Cathal Byrne, Leas-Cathaoirleach Enniscorthy Municipal District Council, Deputy Paul Kehoe T.D., Cllrs Barbara-Anne Murphy, Kathleen Codd-Nolan, Jackser Owens and John O’Rourke, Supt. Denis Whelan, Bishop Ger Nash, Diocese of Ferns, Fr Paddy Banville, St. Senan’s Parish, Carolyne Godkin, Director of Services, Claire Lawless, District Manager, Bernie Quigley, District Council and Jimmy Gahan, Enniscorthy Chamber of Commerce. Liam Sharkey acted as master of ceremonies.

The Enniscorthy parade was led by a Colour Party from the Thomas Wafer branch of ONE (Organisation of National Ex-servicemen) and included St. Colman’s Pipe Band, Ballindaggin, Enniscorthy Fire Service, the United Nations Veterans Association (UNVA), sporting clubs, dancing and music groups, Brownies, vintage cars and commercial floats.

Michael and Annette Dunbar were adjudicators for the parade and the following is a list of prizewinners; Best Sporting Group; Marshalstown Castledockrell.

Best Sporting Club; Delightful Dollies.

Best Presented Group; Enniscorthy Gymnastics Group.

Best Marching Band; St. Colman’s Pipe Band, Ballindaggin.

Most Original Float; Slaney Search and Rescue.

Most Colourful Item; Caim Knit and Stitch.

Adjudicator’s Choice; Shamrocks Football Club.

Adjudicators Choice No. 2; Edermine Ferry Rowing Club.

The parade celebrations concluded with a music session in Market Square.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: